+ Post a Comment HERE!   + Ask a Question / Post a Topic

parents don't want me to get married to my bf of 8 yrs, have another guy lined up

Advert.

kate&gary
    kate&gary is offline Just in!

parents don't want me to get married to my bf of 8 yrs, have another guy lined up

Advert.
    me and my bf have been together for last 8 yrs and we want to get married. his parents have no objections whatsoever, his family adores me but my parents don't want me to even mention his name. the reasons that they give me -
    1. he belongs to different caste, higher caste than ours. they think his relatives would be arrogant and will mock us in family gatherings.
    2. I'm a doctor, he's pursuing MBA from an average b-school. they think he's not qualified enough for me and he wants to marry me only because i'm a doctor even though our relationship began a long time before i joined med school.
    3. he has much more money than us hence he will be arrogant (according to my parents), he is anything but that.
    4. he is 7 yrs older than me, he is 31, i'm 24.

my argument -
    1. he has been faithful to me for all these years, he is my best friend and loves me unconditionally.
    2. he's been there for me even in times when my parents were not.
    3. 8 yrs is a lot of time, we are practically husband and wife.
    4. he has more than enough money to support me and to pay for my further education abroad.
    5. he alone runs the entire family business and has expanded it a lot since he took charge, basically from lakhs to crores while still in b-school, hence i think is intelligent enough.

now my parents have found some engineer guy from abroad who belongs to our caste and want me to marry him. they have set a date for my engagement to him next month without telling me. I've been trying to convince them for last 3 months but to no avail.
    now we are considering court marriage. what do you think i should do?

Pulkit
    Pulkit is offline eTI Aluminium
    Hi kate&gary,